For those who eat gluten-free, grains on the “No-No List” are few, but their prevalence as an ingredient is far reaching. Grains to avoid are wheat, barley, rye, triticale (a cross between rye and wheat) and, in some cases, oats, which although naturally gluten-free, may be cross-contaminated in facilities where wheat, barley or rye are processed. When shopping, look for certified gluten-free products to ensure that you’re avoiding any possibility of gluten contamination. As for gluten-free grains, the “Yes List” is plentiful and varied, with more than a dozen choices and many tasty ways to incorporate them into your daily diet.
Start with Seven
Commonly used gluten-free grains, or “pseudo grains,” include buckwheat, corn, flax, millet, rice, quinoa and sorghum. Each of these grains has many dietary benefits. They also offer flexibility, in terms of how to cook and serve them.