My Market

Home | NUTRITION | Living Gluten Free

Living gluten free

Market of Choice offers many products for those who want to or are required to live a gluten-free lifestyle. Here you will find answers to some basic questions about gluten and who should avoid it, as well as basic can-and-can’t haves. We hope it will make your shopping experience at Market of Choice even more pleasurable.

What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. Most types of cereals and many types of pastas, breads and other baked goods contain gluten. It can also be found in many less-obvious foods and beverages, such as condiments, desserts, cheese, processed meats and beer.

Who should avoid gluten?
Those who have been diagnosed with Gluten-Sensitive Enteropathy (GSE) should avoid gluten in all forms. GSE, commonly called celiac disease, affects the bowel and related tissues. GSE can also include dermatitis herpetiformis, a skin disorder.

What should be avoided?
Wheat, rye, barely, malt, tritical, oats and products made from these grains. Oats should be avoided, due to possible cross-contamination. (Oats labeled “gluten free” have been tested and have been found to have less than 20 ppm of gluten.) (See detailed list, below.)

Do other foods contain gluten?
Yes. Many less-obvious products contain gluten and should be avoided. (See detailed list, below.) Beer, for example, often contains barley and brewer’s yeast. Some craft brewers, however, are now producing gluten-free beers. Be sure to do your research. Wine and distilled spirits are typically gluten free. Read the label. When in doubt, go without.

What about other starches and grains?
Not all foods from the grain family contain gluten. Gluten-free grains, starches and proteins include: corn, rice, potatoes, starch, tapioca, arrowroot, buckwheat, quinoa, garfava, sorghum, amaranth, teff, nut flours, beans and products made from these. (See detailed list, below.)

What is “hidden” gluten?
Some products may contain “hidden” gluten, meaning the ingredients contained in the product don’t specifically list gluten, but may include ingredients derived from gluten. (See detailed list, below.) It’s important to note that some products may not include gluten as an ingredient, but it’s possible that the product may have come in contact with gluten in processing. Some examples include:

- Brown Rice Syrup: Frequently made from barley caramel color, brown rice syrup can be made from corn (dextrose), lactose, molasses or sugar, which are all gluten free. Imported products containing caramel color may be made from malt syrup or starch, which could contain gluten.

- Dextrin: Usually made with corn, but may be derived from wheat. (Malto-dextrin is made from corn.)

- HVP/ HPP /TVP: Found in sausage and many canned foods, such as soups. Can be derived from soy, corn and rice (all are gluten free), but can also be made from wheat.

Are there other products to consider?
Yes. Steer clear of Playdough, makeup, lotions, vitamins, medications and toothpaste that contain gluten.

Are gluten-free products labeled?
The term "gluten-free" on a label is currently voluntary. The Food and Drug Administration is proposing to define the food labeling term "gluten-free" to mean that a food bearing this claim does not contain any of the following:

- an ingredient that is a "prohibited grain;"

- an ingredient (e.g., wheat flour) that is derived from a "prohibited grain" and that has not been processed to remove gluten;

- an ingredient (e.g., wheat starch) that is derived from a "prohibited grain" that has been processed to remove gluten, if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 micrograms or more gluten per gram of food, or 20 micrograms or more gluten per gram of food.

AVOID:

USE CAUTION:

ALLOWED:

B
Barley
Beer (barley, brewer’s yeast)
Bran (wheat)
Brewer’s yeast
Brown rice syrup (barley)
Bulgur (wheat)

C
Club (wheat)
Couscous (wheat)

D
Durum (wheat)

E
Einkorn (wheat)

K
Kamut (wheat)

M
Malt
Malted milk
Malt
Malt extract
Malt flavoring
Malt flour
Malt syrup
Malt vinegar
Modified Food Starch (U.S. only)

O
Orzo (wheat)

T
Tabbouleh (wheat)
Triticale

R
Rice malt
Rye

S
Semolina (wheat)
Spelt (wheat)

W
Wheat
Wheat germ
Wheat nuts
Wheat starch

B
Baking mixes (cornbread, biscuits, waffles, pie filling)
Baking soda
Blue cheese with veins
Bouillon
Breaded vegetables/fish
Breading
Brines
Broth

C
Candy
Carmel color
Catsup
Cereals
Communion wafers
Creamed vegetables

D
Dextrin
Dressings
Dusting powder

F
Flavorings (flavored meats)

G
Gravies
Ground spices

H
HVP/ TVP

I
Ice cream
Imitation foods

M
Marinades
Modified food starch/food starch (U.S. only)

P
Pre-grated cheese
Processed meats/lunch meats

R
Rice mixes

S
Salad dressing
Seasoned chips
Seasonings
Salad dressing
Sauces
Soups
Soup bases
Soy products
Stuffing

T
Teriyaki
Thickeners
Tuna (with hydrolyzed protein)
Turkey (self-basting)
TVP/HVP

V
Vegetable gums

A
Amaranth
Agar
Arrowroot
Aspartame

B
Baker’s yeast
Bean and bean products
BHA/BHT
Buckwheat

C
Carageenan
Carob bean
Carmel color (U.S. only)
Cellulose
Corn
Cream of tartar

D
Dextrin (corn OK, usually U.S.)
Dextrose
Distilled vinegar

F
Flax

G
Garfava
Gelatin
Gram flour (made of chickpeas)
Gum: Arabic, Acacia, Guar, Locust, Xanthan
Groats

H
Hydrolyzed soy protein

L
Lecithin

M
Millet
Masa
Modified food starch (U.S. only)
Malto-dextrin (currently made from corn)
Mono and diglycerides
Montina

N
Nut flour

P
Polenta
Popcorn
Potato
Potato Starch

Q
Quinoa

R
Real maple syrup
Rice
Risotto

S
Spices (pure)
Sorghum
Soy
Sugars
Starch

T
Tapioca
Teff

V
Vinegar (all but malt)

W
Wild rice

 

2018holidayeventad